ISO and Other Standards

ISO 9001

The current edition of the International Standard "ISO 9001:2015, Quality Management System – Requirements" was published by ISO in September 2015.  ISO 9001 has become the global benchmark for providing assurance about the ability to satisfy quality requirements and to enhance customer satisfaction in supplier-customer relationships and is used by organizations in over 180 countries as the framework for their quality management systems.

IATF (earlier ISO/TS) 16949

This is a global technical specification and quality management standard for the automotive industry. Based on ISO 9001:2015, it was published in October 2016 and it replaced ISO/TS 16949. Rather than being a standalone QMS, it is designed to be used in conjunction with ISO 9001:2015 and contains supplemental requirements specific to the automotive industry.

AS 9100

This Aerospace Standard is based on ISO 9001 and contains additional requirements / clarifications / qualifiers and notes applicable to Aircraft, Space and Defense (AS & D) industry.

TL 9000

It uses ISO 9001 as a foundation, but goes a step further. The TL 9000 Quality System Requirements and TL 9000 Quality System Metrics Handbooks include an agreed upon set of sector specific Quality System Requirements and Metrics that were drawn from the best features of similar management system standards and most effective quality practices currently being used in the telecommunications industry.

ISO 13485

This standalone quality management system standard for medical device manufacturers is still based on ISO 9001:2008.

ISO 22000

ISO 22000 specifies requirements for a food safety management system where an organization in the food chain needs to demonstrate its ability to control food safety hazards in order to ensure that food is safe at the time of human consumption.

ISO/IEC 20000

ISO 20000 is the first international standard for IT service management. It was developed in 2005, by ISO/IEC JTC1 SC7 and last revised in 2011. It is currently under revision in 2018.

ISO 17025

It is a standard for general requirements for the competence of testing and calibration laboratories.

ISO/TS 29001

This new technical specification for implementing ISO 9001–based quality management systems in the oil and gas sector is the result of a successful partnership between ISO and the international oil and gas industry. ISO/TS 29001 is envisaged to become the common and unique basis for the oil and gas industry's quality management system requirements worldwide.

ISO 28001

ISO 28001 provides requirements and guidance for organizations in international supply chains to develop and implement supply chain security processes; establish and document a minimum level of security within a supply chain(s) or segment of a supply chain and assist in meeting the applicable authorized economic operator (AEO) criteria set forth in the World Customs Organization Framework of Standards and conforming national supply chain security programs.

ISO/IEC 27001

ISO/IEC 27001 covers all types of organizations (e.g. commercial enterprises, government agencies, not-for profit organizations). ISO/IEC 27001 specifies the requirements for establishing, implementing, operating, monitoring, reviewing, maintaining and improving a documented Information Security Management System within the context of the organization's overall business risks. It specifies requirements for the implementation of security controls customized to the needs of individual organizations or parts thereof.

ISO/IEC 27001 is designed to ensure the selection of adequate and proportionate security controls that protect information assets and give confidence to interested parties.


IWA 1 provides additional guidance for any health service organization involved in the management, delivery, or administration of health service products or services, including training and/or research, in the life continuum process for human beings, regardless of type, size and the product or service provided.


IWA 2 provides guidance for a quality management system in educational organizations. The guidelines contained within IWA 2 do not add to, change or otherwise modify the requirements of ISO 9001, and are not intended for use in contracts for conformity assessment or for certification.


The objective of International Workshop Agreement IWA 4 is to provide local governments with guidelines for the voluntary application of ISO 9001 on an integral basis. These guidelines do not, however, add, change or modify the requirements of ISO 9001.


Capability Maturity Model® Integration (CMMI) is a process improvement approach that provides organizations with the essential elements of effective processes. It can be used to guide process improvement across a project, a division, or an entire organization. CMMI helps integrate traditionally separate organizational functions, set process improvement goals and priorities, provide guidance for quality processes, and provide a point of reference for appraising current processes.

Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award

The Baldrige Award is given by the President of the United States to businesses – manufacturing and service, small and large – and to education, health care and nonprofit organizations that apply and are judged to be outstanding in seven areas: leadership; strategic planning; customer and market focus; measurement, analysis, and knowledge management; human resource focus; process management; and results. The Baldrige performance excellence criteria are a framework that any organization can use to improve overall performance. Seven categories that make up the award criteria are leadership, strategic planning, customer and market focus, measurement, analysis, and knowledge management, process management and results.

OHSAS 18001

OHSAS 18001 is an international occupational health and safety management system specification. It comprises two parts, 18001 and 18002 and embraces BS8800 and a number of other publications.

ISO 45001

This new occupational health and safety standard was released in 2018. It takes into account other International Standards in this area such as OHSAS 18001, the International Labour Organization's ILO-OSH Guidelines, various national standards and the ILO's international labour standards and conventions.

ISO 14000

This is a series of international standards on environmental management tools and systems. This is not a performance standard but a process standard. It deals with a company's system for managing its day-to-day operations that have an impact on the environment. You must commit to meet the legal requirements; other than that, the performance targets you set are voluntary. The specific standard document you get certified to is ISO 14001.

ISO 50001—“Energy management systems—Requirements with guidance for use” was released on June 9, 2011.

This new voluntary consensus standard is intended to provide organizations with a recognized framework for integrating energy performance into their management practices.